As many of you know, the famous White House in downtown CDA was recently moved to a new location. We were fortunate enough to document the event and would love to share some of the history behind this beautiful landmark of Coeur d’Alene.
Built in 1903, the White house, named after J.C. White, was one of the first buildings to grace Sherman Ave. Shortly after purchasing the home, White built and ran the Red Collar Line of ferries with the help of F.A. Blackwell. Through the years White became a strong supporter of many businesses in the area and brought a great deal of commerce to Coeur d’Alene both through boat and rail. White’s iconic home became an increasingly important landmark over the last century and over recent years has been transformed into a living relic of Coeur d’Alene’s lush history. With a vision to expand the museum, the city took upon itself the task of moving the historic home-turned-museum to a new location where it can be expanded for the benefit of the community. The beautiful White House now resides at the foot of Tubb’s Hill, directly behind McEuen Park.